Introduction | HA events

Introduction to Modes

Our Path to Action

Modes are the intent or patterns of activity that are implemented to accomplish a person’s Goal. This intent is the unification and embodiment of our sensations and feelings. In our society, our ability to act is the first skill we develop and it is the most tightly controlled. Anytime we act out of alignment with our parents intent, we get negative feedback. Each person may have up to four natural ways of operating, usually implemented in a particular sequence. Becoming conscious of modes allows one to see and experience the intentions of others by observing their Modes. It is important to recognize when we are operating in alignment with ourselves or performing to get the approval of others, that this is imprinting. The difference between natural modes and imprinted modes is one of either non-resistant engagement (natural modes) or activities that reinforce unconscious, stressed denial where we frequently do not fulfill our initial intentions (imprinted modes). This means that imprinted modes reflect patterns we have adopted from our parents, which became our own coping behavior when things were difficult. When accepting and understanding the various ways of doing things, people are more congruent internally and show up with a greater sense of ease and playfulness.

Modes are frameworks for the personality to take action. A mode is the method we unconsciously adopt to achieve our goals. While we can use any mode to accomplish an activity, our specific mode is the primary way we naturally approach our goal. Modes indicate the path of least resistance in terms of fulfilling our intended goals. Modes can be thought of as unconscious habits that we automatically do. Each individual has habits that they created for themselves that are considered to be their natural modes, as well as the imprinted modes they learned from their parents to get their attention and acceptance. The difference between natural modes and our imprinted modes is one of non-resistance (natural modes) versus denial (imprinted modes). This means that imprinted modes derive from a stress response in which we imitated our parents unconsciously and seek to lash out at others who we believe caused our stress. When we do our natural modes we have a sense of flow.

Modes reflect how we take action or respond to the actions of others. It focuses on our intention, because it requires an act of will to manifest. Everyone is born with one to three modes, while we have multiple imprinting possibilities, based on our parents’ interactions with us. It is important to recognize that modes, overall, are unconscious patterns that have allowed us to complete something or get the result we wanted. As we move through different stages of WorldView, we typically get more selective and more able to adapt to a situation. This means we learn to use different modes selectively in the moment without being so attached to the ones we used in the past. This usually occurs after we reach mid-level Relationship WorldView. We become self-conscious of our own patterns. Until that time, we believe we are our patterns, and don’t experience that we have choices in how to interact in a variety of ways.

Page Author: 
© Copyright 2016, Larry Byram. All Rights Reserved.

Newsletter Subscription

Sign up now to get updates and event notifications, and you will immediately receive a Higher Alignment Mini Creative Assessment that summarizes the seven most important Compatibility Factors.

Go to top